IOCAW V2 C20

Chapter 20: I find out His Highness’s true feelings.

While Zeke was helping out in the kitchen, Risa managed to reach the area in the palace where royalty resided without too much wandering.

She showed the letter from His Highness the crown prince to the register clerk. He looked at her suspiciously at first but completely changed upon seeing the letter and treated her nicely. A maid came and led her to a room guarded by two knights after they walked for a while.

The maid knocked and informed the person inside of the situation before letting Risa in.

“Thank you for coming, Lady Risa.”

“Long time no see, Your Highness.”

Prince Edgar was working at a large office desk as she entered. He put down the pen in his hand and smiled at Risa, then waved her into a sofa while he sat across from her.

He had messy blond hair and sky blue eyes. His skin and his face shone like diamonds in the afternoon sun.

A maid came in and poured the two of them tea before leaving the room.

Prince Edgar asked, “How are you feeling?” and they made small talk.

After a while, Prince Edgar said, “Regarding the marriage talks between you and I, Lady Risa…”

“Yes?”

“I’m sorry, but please forget about it.” He lowered his head apologetically.

“I heard that Lucius, the Grand Chamberlain, visited the Claude mansion. I am perfectly aware that it is incredibly uncouth of me to ask you to forget the event as my side was the one who proposed. However, I had no knowledge of it as it was all done by my mother and the Grand Chamberlain.”

“What?! Really?!”

“Unfortunately, I was unaware until I caught wind of the rumors. Even so, it is quite despicable of me, the next in line to the throne, for not keeping tabs on my own mother. There was a commotion at your shop due to the talks as well, yes? I’m sorry for causing you trouble.”

“Gi- ah, my stepfather came to my rescue, so…”

“I did hear the specifics from Gilford. The troublemaker was apparently a viscount. More importantly, are you all right, Lady Risa?”

“Yes. I was very surprised back then, but I am fine now. Actually, I came here today to turn down the proposal.”

“I see. If it is not too much, may I ask the reason why?”

“At first I was overthinking everything, what with the honor of the Claude family and some troubles at work, so I thought I would be free from all of that if I married you at one point. Now I know that I still want to keep the café open. I want more and more people to eat delicious food, and I want them to spread it internationally.”

“Hmm, the café, I see…I mean no offense, but wouldn’t it be easier to spread cuisine if you quit the café and become royalty?”

“On the contrary, my dream is only possible through the café. It is where I belong.”

“I see. Your determination is very commendable.”

Prince Edgar smiled after returning Risa’s determined stare.

“I had thought you had someone else in mind.”

A certain man’s face popped up in Risa’s mind upon hearing Prince Edgar’s words. Silver hair, icy blue eyes, a blank face. Zeke’s face… Risa flushed red.

“Oh? So you do have someone in mind.”

“No, he really isn’t that kind of…”

“You thought of him, yes?”

“…”

“All’s well that ends well, then. I also have someone I like already.”

“Oh, what wonderful news, Your Highness!”

“Thank you. Unfortunately, there are many hurdles to overcome before I can marry her.”

“Is Your Highness going to give up?”

“Hahaha, not a chance. I’m working hard to overcome them all.”

“I hope Your Highness’s efforts are rewarded.”

“I hope so, too.”

The woman in question must be a wonderful person for Prince Edgar to go so far for her…

Risa thought as she watched Prince Edgar calmly talk about the woman.

They reached an agreement, and Prince Edgar said, “I should return to work.”

Risa got up to leave, when he asked her if she was free to chat with his mother for a bit.

And so he brought Risa to his mother, Queen Adelisia.

“My, Risa! Welcome!”

“Greetings, Your Majesty.”

The queen was having tea on a wooden deck in the garden. Her hair was of a darker blonde than her son Prince Edgar’s, and it swayed in the wind. Her purple eyes smiled along with her bright smile and she welcomed Risa.

“Come, come! Have a seat next to me!”

A maid set a chair down next to the queen, and Risa sat down on it. In front of her was a beautiful garden bursting with vibrant flowers.

“What a beautiful garden.”

“Right? This is my favorite place to sit in the garden. The view is the best, especially now during early summer when the flowers and I are both bathing in the warm sunlight.”

Queen Adele laughed and took a sip from her teacup in one graceful movement. She put it back on the table and sadly began to speak.

“I’m really sorry about the talks with Edgar. I’m sure he has told you this too, but something I said as a joke was taken seriously by the servants… Before I knew it, they blew up the whole thing, and my son got so terribly mad at me. You must have been so, so troubled by it all.”

Queen Adele drooped her shoulders sadly, still crushed that Prince Edgar got mad at her.

“I’ve reflected on some things with this incident as well, so please, don’t think too much of it.”

“I feel a bit better now that you say so. I shall write a letter to Anastasia after this.”

“I’m sure she will be happy about it.”

They smiled at each other and enjoyed the tea. Queen Adele recounted memories of Anastasia, some of them which included Gilford as well. Risa listened with great interest and happily passed the time with Queen Adele.

They talked so much that Risa stayed for lunch with Queen Adele. They moved to the dining hall reserved for royalty and enjoyed the meal while they chatted. The royal chefs had improved on their cooking since last Risa had tried it.

The entree was pasta with fish, garnished with colorful green and yellow vegetables. Despite being an oil pasta, it was slightly sour and a refreshing meal. If she had to nitpick, the pasta was slightly overcooked. Everything else was perfect, so the pasta was a bit of a pity.

Next was salad and cold soup akin to gazpacho. Then came a fruit plate, and just when Risa finished that, Queen Adele smiled happily.

“I asked for a special dessert today!”

Under her invitation, Risa proceeded to the drawing room, with no clue who she would bump into there…


We finally find out Crown Prince Edgar’s feelings and wow…Risa looks pretty.


3 thoughts on “IOCAW V2 C20

  1. On one hand I’m conflicted with the lack of spice on the plot on the other hand drama avoided, we going straight to the Risa x Zeke ship bois with royalty as her backers it seems

    Thanks for the translation

    Like

Leave a comment